A Series of Unfortunate Events

Since my last post, I’ve been to a fair few places: Corfu (Greece), Paxos/Antipaxos (Greece), Meteora (Greece), Dubrovnik (Croatia), Plitvice National Park (Croatia), Lake Bled (Slovenia), and Budapest (Hungary).

Despite the title of this post, it’s all been beyond amazing and each place has something new and beautiful to offer. I’ve reunited with the infamous Tom from Thailand, Felipe who I also met in Thailand, a friend from HS whom I haven’t seen in five years, attended one of the best parties to date, met some beautiful people (inside and out), and (however briefly) seen three more countries. It really couldn’t be much better.

Until on my (supposed) last day in Budapest, the gypsies got the better of me. Luckily my wallet was the only thing that they stole, but for a brief moment it was the first time I stopped smiling on this trip (even the bomb threat at the airport on my way back to Greece didn’t put a frown on my face).

That is until I (read: my parents) was able to cancel all my cards and get replacement ones. After I could stop stressing about them charging a million HF to buy a new car, I realized that there was no reason for me to feel stupid or for this to ruin my trip. It happens to everybody, no matter how old or how experienced of a traveler you are.

It isn’t a nice thing for anyone to do. But what happened next was one of those things that restores your faith in humanity. My friend and I had met two girls in the tram earlier that day, and they happened to pass by and after hearing what happened, they offered to ask their host if they could take me in. After walking a block, I arrived at the house of four Portuguese students who opened their house to me and let me get everything sorted, without knowing my name, nationality, or whether I was a serial killer. They let me stay for two days even sharing food with me since I had not a euro to my name.

Between a friend in Greece and my Hungarian friend, I found my back to Greece to resume my job. The pure kindness of people is really astonishing and you forget sometimes because of the media brainwashing and propaganda. I believe that people are innately good. Call me naïve, but I’ve been on the receiving end of too many acts of kindness to think otherwise.

I take great pride of my being able to finance this trip by myself, and furthermore to be able to make my own decisions and take care of myself. This was the first time that I had to ask my parents for help in a long time, and I was expecting to be greeted with disappointment and lectures. Instead, both parents dropped everything to cancel all cards and order new ones, even offering to send money/buy flights back home. Instead of lecturing me on how I need to be more careful, both assured me that it can happen to anybody and it’s nothing to be ashamed of. My father reminding me not to hesitate to ask for help was a huge realization that sometimes being independent and self-sufficient means asking for help when needed instead of letting things blow up and become worse.

Like I said, everything always works out in the end.

Leave a Reply

