Making History

I tried to leave Nice but was unable to due to the Uber/train/taxi protests, and the following day I managed to find a car out just in time to learn that there are terrorist attacks in Tunisia, Kuwait and France.

Although I haven’t been scared traveling yet being a solo female traveler (and this was no exception), it was something worth considering in my travel route.

Either way, I arrived in Genova safely and found the place I was staying. Backpacking the way I do it lends itself to a lot of free time waiting for people/transportation. However, this free time (with a little help from some stolen wifi) allowed me to check up on some world new.

“Especially against a long history of disapproval of their relationships, this denial to same-sex couples of the right to marry works a grave and continuing harm. The imposition of this disability on gays and lesbians serves to disrespect and subordinate them. And the Equal Protection Clause, like the Due Process Clause, prohibits this unjustified infringement of the fundamental right to marry.”- Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy

IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME.

As I sat on the stoop of the apartment complex, I read messages of people asking whether I knew about the news. I scrolled through my Facebook feed to find countless people sharing articles with “love wins”/”proud to be American” captions. My Instagram feed was doused with rainbows. And Snapchats “Marriage Equality” story literally brought tears to my eyes as I sat on a back street in Italy.

Go get married, go make babies y’all. Go love and be happy. 

As a supposedly “progressive” nation, it has taken the U.S a long time to catch up to countries like France in this aspect. Even though this is a huge step in recognizing equality, we must realize that there still is, and always will be, discrimination. Do we still find racism in our society? Hell yeah (have you seen 10 seconds of the news recently?!). This is a huge step for Americans, but this is just the beginning.

Love Wins. Be Proud. Making History. 

Leave a Reply

