Preparations

It’s official. I’ve got the travel bug. 

When I was a little girl, my dad would always ask me if I wanted to accompany him on his business travels to countries in southeast Asia. “Ew it’s dirty I don’t want to go”. I regret nothing more in my entire life.

I wanted to go to Europe. The men are sexy, the languages are sexy, and everyone’s always gramming sexy pictures of their Eurotrip sipping wine next to blue oceans, pink flowers, and white architecture. Europe is just sexy.

As I sit here already planning my next trip, I realize that I want to do Southeast Asia again. This summer was such a tease, and the prices, the food, the people, the partying, and the culture (basically everything) is drawing me back. I didn’t get to see nearly enough.

One of the things that I enjoy most about my experiences backpacking is the lack of technology. I’m not going to lie, we were all animals sucking up as much wifi as we could when we could get it, but that being said the opportunities of whoring wifi were few and far between. The lack of technology meant that we spent nights at bars chatting up other backpackers swapping destination recommendations and travel stories. That’s how we decided where we were going to take our next cold shower. Some of my favorite trips were unplanned until days (sometimes hours) before. “Yeah I would definitely get to Koh Phi Phi and stay there for as long as possible- you think partying’s great in Phuket you’ll fucking love Koh Phi Phi”, and “yeah man, I was planning on going to Pai for a couple days and ended up staying there a couple weeks”.

So as I sit here gramming #wanderlust, #travelgram, and #backpacking in preparation for my next trip, I am fully aware that plans are made to be broken. Either way, here are a few of my next potential destinations in Asia (and a few other bonus location across the globe I couldn’t help but dream about). Please please comment your opinions about potential places I’ve missed, or places that you have tried and failed. 


Hang Son Doong Cave, Quang Binh Province, Vietnam.

The world’s largest cave created 2-5 million years ago.

grid-cell-13682-1406398541-2

Siem Reap, Cambodia.

Two Southeast Asian countries was such a tease. Missed all of Cambodia, all of Laos, all of Vietnam. I hear Siem Reap & Angkor Wat calling my name.

angkor-wat-hd-wallpaper1

Sea of Stars, Vaadhoo Island, the Maldives.

Phytoplankton ftw.

enhanced-buzz-wide-19789-1383926881-12

Door to Hell, Derweze, Ahal Province, Turkmenistan.

Door-to-Hell-5

Bromo Volcano, East Java, Indonesia.

enhanced-buzz-wide-18637-1404696141-33

Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

indonesia-1254

Liberty shipwreck, Tulamben, Bali. 

MPO02933

Palau Islands.

Home of the Blue Corner & Jellyfish Lake. JELLYFISH LAKE.

palau_diving

Somosomo Strait, Fiji.

Not only did I live in Fiji when I was younger, it apparently has some killer scuba diving too.

b19a2e53d0217b228029b03eec1f941d

SS President Coolidge, Vanuatu. 

Starting to see a theme here…? The SS Coolidge is one of the most intricately preserved wrecks in the world.

solomon-islands

Ruins of Bagan, Burma(Myanmar). 

Apparently getting a visa into Myanmar isn’t the easiest of tasks but seeing the dictatorship & this is would be worth sneaking in.

Bagan-Ruins-Myanmar-Images-540x303

Leave a Reply

